How much rust, is TOO much?

I have been car shopping, car researching, and test driving cars for over two weeks. I recently came across a 1995 Nissan Pathfinder with 178,xxx miles. QUESTION: I noticed some rust damage under the truck, and before I buy, is there any tricks to finding out how bad the rust REALLY is? I think I read you can scrap off the surface rust and as long as no metal flakes chip off as well, it is to be considered normal wear.

Any idea? All help is much appreciated. I’m a student, and being female, I think the salesman takes advantage of this. THX!

The only way to be sure is to get the car up on a lift and have a knowledgable tech look at it.

Rust under the floor is most problematic as it allows exhaust entry. Rust starts from the inside, not the out side. You need to inspect with that in mind. One rust bubble, indicating rust on inner panel is just a small indicator of what is on the other side. Surprisingly, some surface rust that doesn’t break when probed with an ice pick, on heavy metal mechanical components like the frame and susoention members is normal. Depending upon where you or the Pathfinder live, it can be on it’s last legs. I would not buy this SUV that old and not expect problems of any type. They are too expensive to fix. I would Buy a compact car. This Pathinder will be one really expensive vehicle to run and maintain and rust exacerbates the problem.