How long will a car last without oil?

I work at a shop doing general service, im new to this kind of work i’ve done it for 3 months now. Last week a woman came in saying she needed an oil change and inspection so i pulled it in, popped the hood and raised it up for our tech to see underneath to inspect it while i drained the oil. They seen that she needed tires because cords were out and they were ready to blow, while our csa went to try and sell tires I lowered it, put oil in it, started it and checked the level and for leaks and closed the hood. A week later she called saying the motor blew and theres no oil in her engine, im probably going to lose my job for it. Its not my only source of income, i just got the job to learn about cars really. Is there anyway to prove I put oil in it?

Any way to find out how many miles were driven since the oil change?

Great idea

A couple of things can cause the engine to lose oil after an oil change.

The drain plug wasn’t tightened is one.

Or, the gasket from the old oil filter was stuck onto the engine when the new oil filter was installed.

Tester

I strongly suggest that you only talk about this with your supervisor . Any efforts to find out anything that happened after you did your work will just cause your employer more problems. If all that happens that you lose a part time job just count that as part of life.

I’ll go a little off-topic . . .

was the oil level in fact very low, when she brought it in?

WHY did she think she needed an oil change?

Because x number of miles or x number of months had elapsed since last time?

Or because the red low oil pressure warning light was on . . . ?!