How long do repairs for this kind of damage take?

I recently got into an accident and my car is currently being seen at the shop and looked over to analyze the damage and get an estimate. Admittedly, I have no experience with this sort of thing. The visible damage so far is the entire side panel, the door, and the front bumper. Generally, if my car does end up being declared repairable and not deemed a total loss; how long do repairs generally take for that kind of damage? Does anyone have any experience and a ballpark estimate? Obviously I need to find out any possible structural damage as well(if there is any), but for things like side panels and doors and bumpers, how long does repairing that stuff generally take?

When we’ve had comparable damage from suicidal deer, it’s taken our body shop about two weeks each time (pre-pandemic).

Make sure you don’t wash the car for a month after it’s painted so that the paint can cure fully. A hand wash would be preferred at that point to be extra safe.

2 Likes

No one on the web can even make a decent guess . Vehicles are being damaged all over the US because of winter storms . Only the shop can give a time line.

2 Likes

It took about 2 weeks, maybe a tad less, for the body shop to repair my VW Rabbit. Got severely crunched from behind, on a rear corner. Besides panels/fenders/bumper etc, required some frame stretching to get everything back to the correct dimensions. I have to say those folks did a remarkably good job, couldn’t tell it even had any damage afterward. Long time ago, I don’t recall being involved in the money aspect, insurance company dealt directly with body shop.

1 Like