Honda Guy?

I am an amateur mechanic and an aspiring doctor. Early in life I worked on cars as a necessity, but I have gotten to the point where I work on vehicles because I want to. I was recently labeled as a “Honda Guy” because I am in the process of piecing together two Civics. I really can’t say that I have any loyalty to Honda. I also own an Expedition and a Toyota Sienna. I know lots of mechanics prefer certain makes over others, and the recent labeling led me to believe that maybe I need to find a make and stick with it. From a practical standpoint I would like vehicles that can be picked up fairly inexpensive later in their life, but I still need something that I will be able to find parts for at the local auto parts store. The guy that labeled me as a “Honda Guy” is quite proud to be a “Saab Guy”. In summary I am looking for suggestions on a make of car that would be fairly easy to work on(no really expensive tools just to change the oil), holds up for the long haul and can be picked up fairly inexpensive later in life.

jeep Cherokee,

Don’t “pigeon hole” yourself with just one make. If you do then you may pass up a great deal on a vehicle that is not your chosen brand. I have owned a lot of different makes over the years and some I will always buy and others I will always say no to. Besides…names last a long time and how would you like to be saddled with a moniker like “Yugo Guy?”

There’s an hobbyist mechanic in my area that buys – exclusively – used Toyota Corollas and fixes them up, mods them for better performance, etc. He just does it as a hobby. When he gets tired of driving a car he revitalized and has been driving, he sells it and does another. He typically buys two old ones, and takes the best of each to produce one car. Why the Corolla? He’s familiar with them from reading the service manuals, knows the best recyclers where to get parts, and they are probably the most driven car in the SF Bay area.