Honda FIT 2011 manual

I recently (July 2012) bought a 2011 Honda Fit because it seemed to offer many features I would enjoy including good use of interior space and great
gas mileage at 33 mpg highway, 31 city driving. I thought to continue with manual transmission because I thought it was better on gas mileage, gave me more control of the car and I was used to the manual now since I have been driving a manual since 1985.
I have been watching the gas mileage continuously decline almost daily and now its at 29.6 mpg, city driving. Is there something I can do to bring it back to the Manufacturer’s approximation of 31 and/or improve this gas mileage. Is it my driving since i had been used to the “rougher” Honda Civic DX '94 which I had driven for 14 years? Any kind suggestions would be greatly appreciated. I’m really disappointed :frowning:

There is nothing wrong with the mileage you stated…29.6 since all gas mileage estimates are just estimates. You should feel lucky to get as close to the estimate as you did. It takes sophisticated digital equipment to check your true mpg anyway and I bet you are using the old pencil and paper method of determining mpg. That method will get you close but it’s far from accurate.

The car is rated for 27 MPG city and 33 MPG highway. As you can see here
http://www.fueleconomy.gov/feg/PowerSearch.do?action=noform&path=1&year1=2011&year2=2011&make=Honda&model=Fit&srchtyp=ymm

There’s likely nothing wrong with your car.

You might check the air pressure in your tires to be certain that it matches what is called for on the sticker on the door post pillar. The weather in your location may have turned a little cooler at night so that the car doesn’t warm up quite as quickly and the ECM enriches the mixture.