High Mileage or New Parts? What's most important when buying a used car?

I have an interesting question about what to look for in a used car. I am currently in the market for such a vehicle with a limited budget of approximately $7000 (I’m a grad student). I have decided that I want station wagon, preferably a Subaru, that also has a manual transmission. Obviously for this price range most of my options have mileage over 100,000. My parents want me to get a car that has less than 100,000 miles on it but I want a car that won’t drain my savings. I found a 2000 Outback for $6,000 with only 63,000 miles and a 2000 Forester with 170,000 miles for $3900. I have test driven and had the outback inspected by a mechanic and they found the tires are bald, a timing belt service is due, the oil pump gasket is leaking slightly, and a tail light is out but the car was in really good shape otherwise. This is about $1000 worth of repair. The Forester I have not yet taken to the mechanic but I have seen it in person. It has many more miles on it but has new tires, brake pads, water pump, timing belt inspection about 100 miles ago AND the owner (the original one) also said he would replace the clutch if I bought the car for the $3900 asking price. I therefore have one low mileage car that I could buy, but would drain my savings by the time I pay the dealer fee, taxes, registration and have the necessary problems fixed or a high mileage car that is lower priced but will start out with many more new parts. I plan on taking the high mileage Forester to a mechanic before buying but if the car checks out there, are my parents’ worries about high mileage justified, despite all the new parts in this car, or do all these new parts outweigh the high mileage? I have heard that Subaru’s can top 300,000 miles but I do not know how common that is. Thanks in advance for the help!