Her brakes wore out too fast

Regarding the caller who wore out her brakes too fast, and your answer that she drives too fast, I disagree! Brakes don’t wear out from driving too fast but from decelerating too often and too fast. The causes of the latter are from 1) tailgating and 2) failing to slow down by coasting when it is obvious that there is a stop or delay coming up down the road a ways. Of course the two go together most of the time. I am a fast driver. I accelerate rapidly into open spaces in traffic and lag behind when there is no place to go. I very seldom, compared to other drivers on the road in front of me, have to use my brakes.

If I were married I should be dripping in jewelry by now. I just had 90K service done on my 2000 Honda CR-V. I still had 40% on the rear brakes and 30% on the front. I’m hoping the original brakes last at least 15 years.

I think the caller would benefit by remedial driving lessons with a cheapskate like me.

I have another thought about why her brakes ware out so fast. A friend of mine used to drive with his left foot on the brake all the time so that his brake lights were always on. He used to go through brakes way too often as well even though he didn’t speed. I’ve seen a number of other cars who’s brake lights would be on all the time or going off and on while driving on the freeway and no one was in front of them. My friends excuse was “I do that because that’s how race car drivers do it.” I don’t know any race car drivers to confirm that but I’m sceptical.

The only race car drivers that ride the brake pedal during the race are the ones that always lose. Think about it.

They never asked if she was a 2 footed driver, maybe she is like some I have followed with the brake lights going off every 15 seconds weather needed or not.