HELP Timing Belt Forester

Timing belt photos

Hi All! So I’m a new member but long time advice seeker of the community. I have two 2003 Subaru foresters that Ive been breathing life into for many years. My wifes car is the base model and has 160k miles. Mine is the xs model and has 190k. Long story but mine had the infamous head gasket issue at 85k miles which resulted in a new engine block. At that time my timing belt was changed. Doing the math I’m seeming to be right about the point of changing in order to breath more life into breaking 200k! Problem is my wifes car has no found record of ever having timing belt changed. But how could that be at 160k? Anyway I took it to a local (not sure of trust) shop and asked them to check the belt. Came back a while later and he said yes they need to be changed. Then I went home and thought I would give a look myself.

My hope is if any of you skilled mechanics out there are able to tell from looking at the belt if they both infect need changing?

Fact is we’re some what (reluctantly) prepared for these to be beyond repair, and cut our loses. But if a $400ish timing belt repair will keep them going a little longer then we think it’s worth it.

Thank you so much for your advice!

You can’t tell when a belt will break just by looking at it . Any reasonable mechanic will not say the belt will last for 1 day or 10 years. If a 400.00 repair lets you drive for even 6 months it is not money wasted.

2 Likes

You can’t tell by looking at a timing belt if it needs to be replaced. OK, you can tell a timing belt that’s on the verge of catastrophic failure, but normal wear and tear happens at a level not visible to the naked eye. I believe the scheduled maintenance for that belt is 105K. It’s not unheard of to get 150K out of original timing belts. I would replace the timing belts/water pump kits on both your cars and drive them for several more years. You’re not going to get a quality job for $400, but that’s a different question.