Help! Should a shop take responsiblity for engine damage?

I recently had the timing belt service performed on my 2002 Volkswagen Passat wagon. It had the 2.8 liter, dual overhead cam v6 with 180,000 miles. I babied this car the entire time I’ve owned it (2nd owner and bought with 35,000 miles on it). I did the 100,000 mile service myself when i was a broke grad student. i’m fairly technically savvy, performing both front axl replacements, all the service including; timing belt, plugs, wires, valve cover etc… so i know the car. i’ve been out of grad school and working professionally now for some time and luckily can afford to pay for the service now. i took the car to a reputable shop that i found on the internet for the timing belt service and a general tune-up. I paid $2000 dollars for the service which took them about 10 days and included; timing belt, water pump, cam tensioner seals, valve covers, spark plugs and wires and an oil and filter change. I got the car back put a aprox. 200 miles on it and noticed an oil leak on the right side under the engine. took it back and they discovered a “defective” valve cover gasket. I took it back it had lost a couple of quarts oil and they proceeded to fix the “defective cover”. 10 days later i pick the car up on a friday and drive to tahlequah oklahoma (i live in tulsa so this is about 75 miles) caravaning with my wife, our daughters and a 2010 subaru outback for an afternoon kayak trip on the illinois river. we park the volkswagen at one public access point down river and i load up with the girls to put in up river at another public access point. we kayak all day, miss the take out point and take out further down river, forcing me to hike 1.5 miles back to the volkwagen to retrieve it. i get there crank it and it’s the “crashof metal” under the hood. it never moved again. needless to say i had to get a ride back to the subaru, this took hours. we finally got home, called the mechanic on monday and they agreed to tow it ba