Heater core replacement

I have a 1987 Volvo 240DL. It has a moving leak of coolant coming from under the dash. My mechanic, whom I trust implicitly, has looked at it at least twice and said he repaired it, but the leak always comes back.

My mechanic says I probably have to replace the heater core and associated hoses, but predicts that it will be costly and risky. Can one take apart the dash on a 22-year-old car and not break something that’s become brittle?

Anyway, I’d like to do it myself. I can get the instructions from All-Data. I’ve got lots of mechanical experience from decades ago when I did all my own auto repairs.

Now I’m 60 years old, but agile and flexible. Is this something I can do? Can the dashboard stand such an insult and retain its viability?

60 is not that old, Look at the instructions as it may also have AC connections. There have been numerous posts recommending ground black pepper that may work or one of the additives as an alternative. How long do you plan on keeping the car?
http://community.cartalk.com/posts/list/2116763.page

It’s in good shape and I prefer rear wheel drive and drive less than 3,000 miles a year (I commute by bike), so I intend to keep the car as long as possible and improve it slowly with new paint, etc. I recently replaced the windshield.

My mechanic recommended Bars Leak as a stop-gap that would last three years – but on repeated application would probably last 6 months, after which there would no longer be any choice but replacement.

If you are going to do it, every time that I have to work on around or remove the dash, I remove the front seats of the car. On a that model Volvo it is not hard at all. It will give you more space and it is more comfortable to work.

“My mechanic says I probably have to replace the heater core and associated hoses, but predicts that it will be costly and risky. Can one take apart the dash on a 22-year-old car and not break something that’s become brittle?”