Good 1/2 ratchet set to get?

My ratchet set that I got 15 years ago got lost during a move. Can anyone recommenced a new cheap 1/2 set to get? I need the ratchet and the sockets, needs to have metric since I have a honda. I noticed at HF that they often sell sockets alone and ratchets alone and the combination sets have alot of missing sizes.

I was thinking of getting this one http://www.harborfreight.com/64-Pc-14-in-38-in-12-in-Drive-SAE-Metric-Socket-Set-67995.html but it looks like it has no metric sockets in 1/2? Does anyone have this and can confirm?

For a frugal purchase, I’d recommend either Sears Craftsman or Harbor Freight’s Pittsburg brand. I’ve had good luck w/both as a diy’er. I wouldn’t buy either of those if I was a pro mechanic, but for occasional use they’ve served me well. I’m not sure what the warranty is on those products these days. It used to be Craftsmen products would be replaced gratis no questions asked. Suggest to inquire about that, as it might make the decision for you.

You’ll have to do your homework to make sure the set you buy contains the sizes you need of course. My combo SAE/Metric socket set from Craftsman looks pretty much the same as that HF set in the link, by appearance anyway. 1/2 drive btw isn’t what I normally use for car repairs. 3/8" is a better size for most car diy’er purposes, as everything is smaller. Access is usually the most critical problem when working on cars, so a small size is important. For the times I require 1/2" drive, I have purchased single sockets of the size I need for that. For lug nuts for example I have a 13/16 inch 1/2 " drive socket .

Craftsman is the best way to go.

If you have SEARS or an ACE hardware store nearby, they still warranty the hand tools for life.

Tester

My old set was craftsman and cost me $20 15 years ago, now that set is $100 and I am looking for something cheaper.

Remember!

You get what you pay for!

I highly doubt those are dropped forged tools at that price.

Tester