Fuel Economy

Hello Everyone,

I am new to the Car Talk community, and I have a quick question about my 2006 MINI Cooper S. Recently, I have noticed the display for fuel economy is showing that my car is getting about 20 to 22 mpg. About a year ago, I was getting around 27 mpg. Since it has a turbo engine, BMW recommends using the Premium gas. Because of rising fuel prices, I have been using the cheaper unleaded for the last four or five cycles.

I added some fuel cleaner to the last tank of unleaded, and during the last fill up, I went back to Premium. The display is still showing mpg to be around 20 to 22. This vehicle had an oil change about three months ago. Can anyone suggest something else I should be doing to improve the fuel economy?

Thanks!
Albert

First, you need to measure your actual miles per gallon. The display you mention may or may not be accurate.

Second, does BMW recommend or require premium gas in your car? With a turbo, I’d be kind of surprised if it’s not required. Regardless, using a lower octane than recommended would retard the timing, generally reducing your miles per gallon (and defeating the point of using cheaper gas in the first place).

Finally, as to your original question, have you made sure that your tires are inflated properly? Are you driving gently, especially when accelerating? Was the correct type and grade of oil used for your oil change? Have you changed to a different type of tire?

“BMW recommends using the Premium gas. Because of rising fuel prices, I have been using the cheaper unleaded for the last four or five cycles.”

I found your problem.
A modern engine that requires premium will often run on regular without pinging, but at the cost of efficiency. Your ECU is making compromises to the operation of your engine in order to compensate for the tendency of regular gas to detonate more readily.

Be sure your maintenance is up to date, but you’ll only realize the full efficiency of the motor if you use premium.