Fluids used for maintenance

Our daughter drives a 2006 Honda Civic. We keep up with maintenance as much as possible. The Honda manual says to use only Honda brand coolant, transmission fluid and power steering fluids. We go to our local Goodyear shop for oil change, tire rotations and other maintenance, but for the 15,000 and 30,000 miles scheduled maintenance we took it to the Honda dealership. Is it OK for us to just take the car to Goodyear and use whatever brand of fluids they use? Or, do we have to use the Honda brand fluids for scheduled maintenance? Mahalo

I’m not sure about the transmission fluid or the coolant.

But I know that Honda definitely has their own version of power steering fluid.
If you’re messing around with the PS fluid, make sure it meets the Honda specs.

Hey Oloskaa,

I graduated from auto tech school about 3 years ago, and when I was going to school all of the old wrenchers that were my teachers told their classes the same thing, always use the Honda specific fluids all around. The reason I was told that to be the case was that the fluids contained additives that exeeded industry standard spec. That made the parts that they were added to live longer and work properly. Well I’m not a fluid chemist that is able to analyze the chemical make up of the Honda fluid versus valvoline or mobile 1, but if that is what Honda calls for and if you can possibly void your warranty if you dont follow those instructions then you might just wanna bite your lip and pay for the Honda fluids. Personaly I’m not sold on the fact that their fluids are any better than competitors in the field today but hey what the hell do I know.

Hope your Honda lives a long and healthy life,
Best wishes!