Fixing up a '74 VW Super Beetle

I’m in over my head with this one. Got a '74 super beetle that’s been sitting for a few years because of engine trouble. Dropped the engine, but now what do I do?

Do you have a repair guide? These are good:

and especially:

Bigger question - what kind of repairs have you done? And what kind of tools do you have? I guess a fair number, if you dropped the engine…

What kind of engine trouble are you having? What led you to drop the engine?

@LadyBug74
If You’re Uncertain Of What’s Wrong, You’ll Need To Inspect Everything. Depending On How Far You Want To go, This Could Be An Opportunity For A Remanufactured Crankshaft/Bearings, Heads/Valves, and a set Of Cylinders/Pistons/Rings.

I built one of theses 1600 dual-ports for a buggy a few decades ago, Over-Size jugs, new crank, balanced the rods, etcetera. I also had one in 71 Super Beetle, purchased new in 71. That car replaced my 64 bug. I have probably 5 years experience working for a Volkswagen dealer.

You’ve come to a good site. OK4450, one of the regulars here, speaks Volkswagen. He is a pro-technician and would be an excellent source of information for you. He should be checking in, shortly.

As others have suggested, you’ll have to give us a little more history and where this going in the future. Have you got a budget or trying to do this as cheaply as possible?

What else can you tell us? Is the body solid and worthy of a good engine?

CSA

I agree with the others about knowing why the engine was dropped and how sure are you the engine is bad or worth rebuilding if necessary.

The engines are simple but there are some specialized techniques and service tools involved if the engine is rebuilt properly.

The '74 Super Beetle is a good year to have. The interior is a little nicer, the strut suspension allows it to ride and handle better, and the engine has more power than its ancestors and which allows it to cruise along at a pretty decent highway speed.