First time car buyer needs advice

Hello All,

I’m not just a first-time car buyer with no prior experience with cars whatsoever.

I am, however, trying to gain as much knowledge as possible. I’ve come to understand a few things about leasing a car versus buying one through research.

I’ve also learned a few car terms like ‘mileage’, ‘make and model’, ‘market value’ etc.

As you can see, a total newbie. Any and all guidance would be greatly appreciated.

I do have a few questions as well:

1. Is leasing a new car a better option than outright buying a used car? (Given good credit of course!)

2. If buying/ leasing a used car how old of a model and what maker should one look to, to avoid maintenance as much as possible for as long as possible (or at least a few years)?

3. Is it less of a hassle to buy or lease a used car than to lease a new car?

4. What should one be aware of when leasing a used car? Buying?

5. Also is it possible to buy a used car (plus registration and all) for under $5,000?

my zip is 11230

Again all and any guidance would be greatly appreciated!

Complete Guide to Saving Money Buying or Selling a Car (realcartips.com)

First of all where you are located will make a difference on replies . Second you don’t lease used vehicles . Third leasing a new vehicle is the most expensive way to own a vehicle because after the lease period all you have is a stack of receipt’s. Fourth yes you can get a used vehicle for under 5000.00 dollars but in todays market it will not be much of a vehicle.

2 Likes

Thank you so much for your feedback! If it’s true what you say, then what are my options for owning a car? I’m just looking for something to practice my driving and get me through a year maybe. Before I can look into a more proper vehicle for long term.

Thank you, greatly appreciated it!

You have parents? Family? Friends?
Can you get a car from them?
To maintain, insure, repair. For practice?