First New Car Ever - 2018 Chevy Tahoe - First Oil Change?

Hello.

I just bought my first new car ever. I’m very new to having a car that doesn’t shake, sputter, or break down!

Question I have is how soon should I change my oil for the first time? I couldn’t find anything in the manual about this and the oil life gage still shows 79% life left, but I just know that most cars back in the day were sold with break-in oil and it had to be changed after the first 1500 miles.

I’m at 1700 miles currently.

Blessings,

• Colby
1 Like

You can likely go to 5,000 miles before changing the oil and filter, but I’d probably change them at 3,000 miles the first time, then 5,000 miles after that. It goes without saying that it is best to follow what the manufacturer says in the maintenance schedule of the owner’s manual of course. And be sure to use the exact oil specification it calls for. That way you won’t have to worry about voiding the warranty. As far as I can see there’s no miles interval stated for the oil and filter, just to follow what the computer oil life indicator says. I still wouldn’t go beyond 5,000 miles even so. Common sense says to check the oil condition and level visually on the dipstick once a week or so. There’s a bulletin on problems that come with using off-brand oil filters on the 5.3 L engine. Make sure your shop uses a good quality oil filter when it comes time to change it. Buying your oil filters from the GM dealership shop makes sense.

1 Like

Your manual does have a service schedule in it. And break in oil is a thing of the past .

Your car has a very sophisticated oil life monitor and it will tell you when to change the oil. The only exception would be if you go longer than one year, then change it at the one year mark. Otherwise schedule an oil change when the oil life monitor indicates 10%. I’m a professional mechanic. I too have a 2018 GM SUV and the first oil change was at about 6000 miles.