Finding an honest shop

My father was a self-taught mechanic who went from car engines to Navy ships and jets, and back to car engines. No (over-rated)college education, but one very smart man.

I have the greatest respect for the super-honest work he did, often at a loss just out of the goodness of his heart. It IS “knuckle-busting work” as “bennyandthejets” (who sounds pretty smart) says.

Just food for thought, though: I’m a nurse, and I make 1/4 of what a mechanic does per hour, and my work is equally important, and I do also supply many of my own “tools of the trade”, and my job is also often dangerous (as in, beaten up by a patient or being injured by lifting, by a failed equipment, stuck by dirty needle,etc.) and often is also dirty, physically exhausting work. I think there is not a retired staff nurse out there without at least 2-3 small scars and a partially ruined back…we earn our money, too. So I do wonder about the relative pay scale. I think, though, it’s the historically feminine role, because there’re plumbers, many other trades who are also relatively overpaid, by a long shot.

But, I agree, many mechanics are dead-honest,and I think the reason why we are so “paranoid” is that we are 100% at their mercy, just as when we see a surgeon who thinks they’ve figured out the problem, fixes it when we’re out cold and can’t look out for ourselves…and if the diagnosis was wrong or the surgery was botched, the personal cost is enormous and often unrecoverable.

Same as with a car when you really need yours to work and you have no money to burn; if you trust the wrong person, you are scr@wed. Up the proverbial creek, as I may soon be.

That situation leaves you jittery and looking for the tiniest good and bad signs, and a lot of fearful resentment, just as with doctors. Not very puzzling, really, and not qualifying as paranoid.