F150 transmission issues

My truck has a very specific hesitatation/failure to engage at 1300 rpm and 45-55 mph. I took it to a reputable national chain that specializes in transmissions thinking this should be a very specific issue that I was able to catch early. After $2,300 for a “transmission rebuild” with new torque converter, I have the exact symptoms. How is this possible? Did I just pay for unneeded repairs, did the shop possibly not do anything and charged me for a rebuild or could it be I needed $2,300 in transmission work that had no symptoms and there are more repairs needed?

The national chains are all garbage… Let me refraze that, most are just crooks. Some are ok, but not many. All they want to do is sell you repairs you don’t need. I was a freshman in school and took my car to the local aamco. Bottom line is $750 later for a torque converter, and my car needed a $20 spark plug wire set.

Any way let’s assume the trans has been rebuilt and done correctly. Have you tuned up your truck recently?? Any codes?? What exactly are the symptoms??

At the very least you need to provide a model year. The F150 has been around a long time.

As gsragtop mentions, “transmission,” “national chain,” and “reputable” are not easily put in the same sentence. Also, a better description of the actual symptom would be good. It hits 1300 rpm at 45-55 and what? The engine revs up? It bucks? Shudders? At 1300 rpm we’ll have to assume a lack of hard acceleration? Just a coasting/leveling pf speed with light throttle? What if you stomp the throttle at that point? What made you think it was a transmission issue? What specific diagnosis did the shop give? Have you brought it back to them, and if so what did they say?

All of the rest of the trucks maintenance info would also be good.