Extended Warranty: Yes or No?

I have a 2009 Ford Focus that I bought when I graduated college. In just over 2 years I’ve managed to put just over 34,000 miles on it. I’ve been lucky so far and had no problems that I’ve needed the warranty to cover so far. My question is whether I should invest in one of Ford’s extended warranty plans. I don’t suspect I’ll put another 34k miles on it in the next two years but I will continue to drive it several times a year on business lengthy trips and home is only 300 miles away so I’ll definitely hit the road around the holidays. Beyond that it’s in town driving. Would anyone recommend the warranty?

No. There are 2 things you can do that are much more beneficial than an extended warranty.

1. Sock the extended warranty money into an interest bearing account and forget about it unless needed.
  2. Maintain the car religiously and this often means at odds with factory recommendations. Many factory recommendations are designed more to give the appearance that your car does not need as much maintenance as it actually does.
    (Transmission fluid change intervals is a big one. That should be done every 30k miles.)

I second OK’s advice, and would add that if it seems worrisome to you not to have some kind of warranty, get AAA for those long trips. That way, if anything does happen (which most likely won’t be covered by a warranty, anyway), you can get a free tow to a place that can fix it. AAA has saved me (gotten me off busy highways)more than once. You should also visit the dealer now and then to make sure that any recalls are taken care of.

Save the dollars, enjoy the ride.

Chase

Is It Worth It To You To Spend Money On "Peace Of Mind " For Something You May Never Need ? Are You A Chronic Worrier ?