Escrow For Private Car Sale

Hi All.

We are trying to sell our car and we were thinking of Escrow.com to facilitate the money transfer. Since the bank has the title we’ll have to pay them off first before we can give the title to the seller. Obviously Escrow.com takes a cut but it’s not too bad.
Has anybody had experience with Escrow.com or knows of other options?

Thanks,

Craig

I’d just deal directly with the bank, do the transfer there, talk to them about how they typically do it.

I have no knowledge or trust in a web site. MANY scams out there.

I’d have to agree with texases, at least in part because even if you overcome your skepticism/uncertainty then you’re going to also have to overcome the skepticism/uncertainty of potential buyers. They already don’t trust you.

That said, I do not have any direct experience with doing things that way. So nothing about that is based on knowing the service or having tried to use it.

If I am interested in a car and told I have to put money in an online escrow account while the bank releases the title I am walking away.

The best option for all parties is for the buyer to pay the bank and cut out the go-betweens.

Escrow.com is reputable as far as I’ve heard but why bother. So the questions arise as to type of car, mileage, and how much is owed at the bank. Sometimes the lien amount exceeds the expectations as to what the car will actually sell for.

With a lien in place at the bank, you should have no objection at all to someone paying the bank instead of you personally. If the sale price exceeds the lien amount the bank will give you any overage.

What kind of car are we discussing here? A fully restored C1 Corvette or a 1996 Tempo?