Engine oil top off help

Hi guys!

So, we recently traded my wife’s Nissan in for a 2017 Subaru Legacy 2.5L limited. She loves the car, but I noticed that it was about 1/4 quart low on oil at about 2,500 miles after my last oil change. We have the oil changed at Subaru - OW-20 synthetic (their brand). Do I need to use their brand to top it off, or can I use any OW-20 brand to top it off until my next oil change?

I will be having Subaru look at this issue, but it seems like it’s common with these engines. We have the FJ series, and I thought the problem would have been worked out by now. Guess I was wrong ):

Anyway, before I do something I shouldn’t, please let me know.

Also, when topping off, do I just pour some oil in slowly then keep checking the dip stick? Do I need to start the engine at any point?

Sorry, I’m a newbie to this. I’ve never had an engine burn oil like this.

You don’t know that it’s burning the oil yet. It might be leaking the oil. Or the guy changing the oil might have stopped the flow a little early.

Were I you I’d top it off, then keep an eye on it and see if the level drops.

Pretty much any brand will do - I probably would avoid the stuff at the dollar store, but other than that, use whatever’s at hand.

If you know it’s 1/4 quart low on oil, just put in 1/4 of the bottle and then check the dipstick after giving it a few minutes to drain down to the pan.

You don’t need to start the engine for this. Make sure it’s not running when you’re actually putting the oil in or you’ll make a mess.

Oh, come on Jman. You have been here long enough that you should have read some of the many oil threads. Yes you can mix brands of oil , just use the proper weight. Just pour some in let it settle for a minute or so and check it.

Perfect! Thank you!

As much as I should, I hardly get a chance to read the threads on here. I know, I should be better informed. I’m sorry ):