Durability

Hi everybody.
I live in Chicago and the pot holes (more like canyons) have absolutely destroyed my car. I’ve had three flats this winter in addition to bad bearings and suspension damage. I have an 06 Outback. I’m buying a new car and I’m wondering if there are models that may be a little more durable in these conditions. I was all set on getting a Toyota Highlander but I think they are too expensive. I like everything about the Outback but I’m reluctant to get another one because of the durability issue. For the sake of full disclosure I have to confess that I think I’m a bad driver. I accelerate too fast out of stop signs and brake too hard. I’m working on changing my ways but it’s a slow road.
Does anybody have any suggestions for a durable car? CR doesn’t really have a category for that.
Thanks!

I don’t know if police cars are chosen by durability, what models are police driving in Chicago. I am sure you are not alone in road hazard damage.

If your problem is mainly from really bad roads, then you need a truck with a full frame, rather than a car-based SUV or Crossover that is built on a unitized chassis.

Think in terms of a Ford F-150, or a Chevy Silverado 1500/GMC Sierra 1500 (same vehicle, different badges) , or a Dodge Ram 1500 pickup. Their frames & suspensions have the strength to withstand being driven on really rough roads without sustaining the same type of damage that a car or car-based SUV/Crossover would wind up with. And, you should be aware that these trucks are now available with all of the same creature comforts that cars come equipped with nowadays.