Dumb question:How do I switch from 5w-30 for 10w-40?

Like the title says, this is a dumb question but I’m new to working on my car so I hope someone can give me some advice.

I have a PT Cruiser that I’m in charge of maintaining. It uses 5W-30. There was a sale on 10W-40 so I bought some. I understand you are not supposed to mix oil grades. Here is the question, when you drain your old oil there is always some oil left in the pan, right? How much is too much leftover oil before I add the new grade of oil?

So, I guess the question is, should I do anything special before adding the new oil?

Thanks

It is perfectly all right to mix grades of oil. If someone told you otherwise, you were misinformed. So drain the old oil, close the drain and immediately refill with fresh oil.

You can mix or switch to your hearts content without any worry.

No just change it. Now beware you just open a can of worms on this forum. You will have people telling you 5-30 is what your car calls for or only do what the manual calls for. If you want to use 10-40 it will not hurt anything. The choice is yours. Oh and you can mix oil grades

Simply draining the oil sump, changing the filter will probably get at least 98% of the previous weight out, but if it’s not ready for an oil change and you needed to add some for topping it off, mixing different weights or even conventional and synthetic won’t hurt a thing.

Unless you live in Death Valley or South Florida, you are well advised NOT to put ALL that oil in your car. It needs 5W30 or something close to it. Read the manual.

You CAN mix oil grades, as long as the viscosity (weight) of the oils mixed is within the range recommended. So 2 quarts of W20 plus 2 quarts of W40 will result in a W30 weight.

Since you have already bought it, you can add 1 quart at the time when the oil needs topping up. That way you will get the equivalent of 2x30+40/3 or about 33.3 weight. Since summer is approaching that’s OK.