Dropping and adding WS ATF in Mexican Sienna

On my 2009 Mexican Sienna, the ATF on the dipstick did not look good enough to suit me. Toyota recommends WS World Standard for that year. I did a lot of reading on it. Most folks, as on this board, said they do not believe it will last the life of the car, unless transmission failure means the end of the life of the car. [sarcasm]

I am going to quote some things I found online. In both cases, I have no personal knowledge that they are correct, and no one should take what I am posting as true, unless they verify it for themselves.

One person posted that WS is said to be a lifetime ATF, because the car companies will have to pay a large environmental charge if that ATF has to be changed. So, they decreed that it does not have to be changed. Any comments from those who know more than I do?

A BMW owner said his car also specified WS. At 80,000 miles he took it in and asked to have the ATF changed. The dealer REFUSED to do it, as opposed to recommended it was not needed. Sometime later, he again requested it be changed, and again they REFUSED.

At 150,000 miles, the transmission failed and they did not refuse large amounts of money to replace it.

I am not trying to change anyone’s opinion. But, I am going to say I am convinced that WS needs to be changed, just like any other ATF does. Make up your own mind.

I had some time ago, bought 5 quarts in McAllen, and finally got around to dropping 4 quarts and adding 4 quarts. But, that method requires several changes.

Last week, I went to Cordoba to see my beloved niece, who has become a reporter for a large local newspaper. There is a Toyota dealer out on the big boulevard coming into town from the high speed highway.