Does RWD drifting, feel anything like FWD handbrake turn?

I recently started practicing some handbrake turning in a fwd car
180 turn, 90 turn, etc.

My question is:

Does the “real” drifting, in a RWD car, (by clutch kicking, I’d guess), does it feel anything like handbrake turns?
Is it similar in any way?

PS: I’m pretty inexperienced and new in the world of cars, so I may not understand all the slangs yet

The simple answer is No, it isn’t the same.

Someone has been watching too many old Boot Legger movies .

1 Like

With the handbrake turn you’re slowing down (it is braking after all) and rotating rapidly.
With RWD drifting you’re maintaining speed and simply pointing the car in a slightly different direction than it’s actually going (yaw).
Rapid rotation in that case is called spinning out, not drifting.

1 Like

Or too many Fast and Furious movies… :wink:

Back in the days of low traction Bias Ply tires, RWD and solid rear axles we called it a “4 wheel drift” to “help you get around the corner” at top speed. The idea was to push the car to the maximum limit of adhesion without losing control and obviously that limit was occasionally passed with bad consequences.

Today with Radial tires, FWD and Independent Suspension “Drifting” makes absolutely no sense, unless tearing up your tires, suspension and possibly crashing your car are your goals.

So STOP DOING IT!!!

1 Like

No, with a RWD car, you’re actually doing a fair amount of car control with the throttle, you’re adjusting the directional attitude of the car with the amount of throttle you’re giving it at any given moment. You’re still steering with the front wheels of course, but the amount of power being sent to rear wheels will dictate how much rotation you’re going to get. In a FWD car this doesn’t happen to nearly the same degree.

1 Like