Different size tires on all-wheel drive

OK, here is my issue: I had 4 new tires put on my car this past winter. I paid for 735 R15 tires. The dealer whom I won’t name at this time installed one correct tire and 3 715 R15 tires. The odd size tire was mounted on the front passenger side. I have been driving with it like this for approximately 6 months. My car broke down last week - a problem with the front drive train. From the day the new tires were put on the noise was excessive. I complained and was told it was b/c I bought a mud and snow tire with heavy tread and the noise was tread noise. I am now in a fight with the dealer’s insurance company on responsibility. My hubs are shot, and the transfer case is leaking. There is not telling how much damage is done to other mechanical components as a result. Any gear heads out there have any advice on this???

None that you haven’t learned the hard way…to keep the same size tires all around.

Honestly, I think if you got all the documentation together and took this to small claims court against the dealer you’de have a very strong case. You deserve and entire new front end and new tires of the correct size.

You should win this one. What does the invoice the dealer gave you say? Does it show one tire a different size from the other 3?

If yes, the dealer will claim you were informed of the different sized tires and ok’d it. If not, then the dealer installed tires that were different from what you were billed and didn’t disclose the different tire sizes.

The different sized tires are not good for the vehicle and damage can result. If you suffered a broken transfer case and/or differential on the axle with the wrong size tire that is consistant with the kind of damage expected when running different sized tires.