Cylinder Misfire

Hey all. I am not a mechanic by any means, but have picked up a lot of stuff over the years. I drive a 2003 Hyundai Sonata with a 4 cylinder engine. Several days ago while going up a steep hill I lost power and my check engine light came on. This has happened before when my coil went bad so I figured it would be a breeze fixing it. I limped it home and ran the code. Sure enough it came back as cylinder 1 misfire. This vehicle uses 2 coils so I swapped them to try and get the problem to follow, but it did not. I have tried a new spark plug, new wires, and swapped injectors without success. There is still no activity on cylinder 1.

I ran a compression test. I get about 60 PSI on cylinder 1 and between 180-210 on 2-4. This would point to head gasket, so I am told. I do burn about a quart of oil every 500-1000 miles, but I do not seem to have any coolant leaking issues. I have not noticed any smoke from the tailpipe. The spark plugs were generally good looking, except for number 3 which had a hard white substance all over the electrode. There does not appear to be any oil in the coolant or coolant in the oil. This seems strange to me as everything I have read said that one of those would happen.

Is there anything else I should look into or is my engine toast?

Compression is very low on 1. More than likely a head gasket, but it could be a valve. A leak down test would help determine which. You could test for hydrocarbons in the radiator fluid. Here is a spark plug condition chart.

Go back and run a wet compression test on the low cylinder. This means a small squirt of motor oil into the cylinder before the test is done.
If the number jumps from 60 to a 100 or whatever there’s a piston/ring issue.
If the number stays roughly the same ( a little increase is acceptable) then it’s related to a valve in the cylinder head.

Given this came on suddenly and the number is extremely low I suspect a cylinder head valve problem.