Cutting the ties

I taught high school and raised two boys. You were grown when you paid your own way. As long as Mom and Dad are paying the way, you’re a kid. Good for her to get herself pushed from the nest. Any person with a job and living on their own needs to take care of their own car. Period

I loved this story, and I love this young woman AND her dad. Heck, I could her dad’s best friend. I don’t think her dad is strange at all; he seems like a prudent fellow and a good father, too. Along with teaching my children to drive, I tought them the importance of keeping good records. When I bought a car for a son to use at college, I sent him off with a spiral notebook to keep track of his expenses, too. Same with my daughter when her time came. For our vehicles at home, I also keep a spreadsheet that calculates mileage and fuel cost per mile. I am an economist myself, and I know that record-keeping is costly in terms of time and effort, but probably less costly than the results not knowing how expensive it is to own and drive a car. That young woman who studied economics hates keeping records (good thing she studied economics and not accounting). Still, she will profit from knowing how much a mile costs and how much her total transportation costs are. This piece was really funny, and I welcome young Rebecca to the adult world of scarce resources. I should add that my wife, who thinks I am way over the top on this kind of thing, also hates keeping the log book. She laughed and pointed her finger at me during this whole selection.

I almost choked when she said her major. Economists who don’t like accounting or statistics–doesn’t that explain why this country is where it is financially right now? Sigh…

Signed,

An English major who loved, and still loves, statistics and data

Economists who don’t like accounting or statistics…