Current thinking on oil change interval

Is it 3,000 miles, or 5,000 or 7,500 mile?. One car said 5,000 & another said 7,500. Cars are driven over 40 miles daily so they all reach normal operating temperature.

I do 5K with conventional oil and 7.5K miles with synthetic. All of my vehicles are out of warranty, so the choices I make are mine alone. When under warranty, adhere to the maintenance schedule or have an interval that is shorter than what the owner’s manual says.

I have been doing oil change every 3K, new & older cars for about 20 years. My daughter’s new Versa said 7.5K while my Malibu is 5K, or whenever the maintenace light comes on. Should I continue wiht 3K?

I generally shoot for 3k-5k with synthetic oil. I know this is this more often than necessary. But I tend to run my vehiles hard,fast, and often. It’s cheap insurance.

5K and 7.5K are common recommendations in modern engines. Some are even 10K.

Personally, I like 4K even though my manual says (and my maintenance light is set for) 5K. I like to keep the fluids and filters fresh.

3K goes back to the old days when engines ran “dirty” (lots of unburned gasoline washing things down and diluting the oil) and parts were sloppy. Todays engines run far cleaner than engines of old.

At 3k, the oil are very dirty & very dark (dark dirty black). This is one reason why I continue with 3K. I could have save a lot with the 5K & 7.5K. But it’s cheaper compare to ruining & fixing an engine.

Subaru spec’ed 7500 miles normal conditions for my turbo cars(Legacy & WRX) using dino. Recently got a notice though they reverted it to 3750 miles for all turbo cars normal or severe.

I am guessing they paid for a few engines or turbo’s.

I use dino but every 4k. A few car makers have reverted along the way including early 2000’s Toyota’s and Passat 1.8T due to sludging.