Cruise Control in the Rain

A long time ago, the advice was not to use your cruise control in the rain for obvious reasons. But, today’s cars with traction control and stability control, disengages the cruise control faster than is humanly possible at the first hit of wheel slip, so it I believe that driving with the cruise control in the rain or even on ice is much safer than controlling your speed with your foot.

Any thoughts?

Mark

I do agree with you in regards of the vehicles equipped with traction control. But there are still some vehicles even built now that don’t come with that feature so i would be cautious in using it during bad weather and driving in the snow, personal experience.

[quote] believe that driving with the cruise control in the rain or even on ice is much safer than controlling your speed with your foot.

I disagree.

As a driver, I can anticipate low-friction areas of the road, and back off the throttle before I get there. Even the most advanced cruise control only reacts to loss of traction after the fact–you have to start spinning to disengage.

Add to this, that one might not be immediately ready to “take over” when cruise clicks off, and cruise control remains a bad idea in the wet and icy.

Don’t do it. Your traction control is likely not smart enought to cope with all situations. Read your OWNER’S MANUAL and you will find that cruise is not to be used on wet, slippery, icy, snowy and other bad surfaces as well as not in traffic, rain and snow storms.

I agree…the manual has the final word. Mine says, BE CAREFUL, in so many words. It also says in big red letters, “traction control and all the fancy stuff we give you, won’t protect you from driving like a fool”. Honest :slight_smile:
I suppose if you went over a bridge, these devices would bring you to a safe landing. Maybe there are limits.

I’m glad I could give you all something to agree on. :slight_smile: