Crooked Dealership

Before purchasing my 2008 Ford Escape I noticed the transmission slipping. I made the salesman aware and had it checked out. They decided that it was a computer error. Since I was a new driver of the vehicle when I pushed the gas the computer was reading it wrong. So they reset that. Well that wasn’t the actual issue. So I brought it back in. They put in a new shifter but didn’t fix the transmission. They couldnt figure out what was wrong. They wanted me to wait for a phone call from the Ford Company. So I waited and waited and waited. No call ever came… The transmission got worse. The reverse went out. Imagine my surprise… I was less than thrilled but I was right anyway. Now they dont want to pay for any repairs. I do have a warranty but it doesnt cover eerything. About 1100 shy of the supposed 4000 grand it costs. What can I do to make them pay for the repairs. Do I call the warranty company? Do I get a lawyer? Do I just suck it up and pay for it? What are my rights? Any help or advice would be greatly appreciated.

What does the warrantee cover? If it doesn’t cover the transmission, then it is not any kind of a warrantee at all. Read the warrantee yourself. BTW, here is how you can tell when a used car salesman is lying, his/her lips move.

Is the warranty a Powertrain warranty?

If so, the transmission is part of the powertrain and should be covered.

Tester

“Since I was a new driver of the vehicle when I pushed the gas the computer was reading it wrong.” This statement is pure, unmitigated, bull. Period. Never believe anything a salesman tells you. Especially this one.