College Car Buy

I am currently a graduate student and am in the market for my first car purchase. I have about a $5000 limit and want to know what car can give me the most bang for my buck. I live close to school and work so I won’t be doing much driving, but I do want a dependable car that I could take out of town if the situation arises.

Any Suggestions?

Thanks,

Chris

Well, the perennial favorite answer for this question around here is the Ford Crown Victoria. A real grandpa car with a fast depreciation curve, but it gets decent mileage (reported 25MPG highway) and every mechanic and his brother know how to fix them and the parts are cheap.

No, it’s not going to impress the undergrad women over at delta-delta-delta, but it will get you and 4 or 5 friends around with a ton of room in the trunk.

Well, the perennial favorite answer for this question around here is the Ford Crown Victoria.

I think FAR MORE people will suggest a Toyota or Honda over the Crown Vic…From my observation it’s OVER 10:1.

He said the most bang for the buck so that would not be a Toyota or Honda. I suggest a compact size Focus or Cavalier around 1990 or newer. Cavalier for one had been around for a long time before that and the bugs are mostly gone.

In that price range, I’m not sure brand is that important, you are just buying a commodity. Look for something that is in good mechanical condition, not extremely high mileage, and ugly. Ugly; because the less “sexy” the car is the better deals you will find.

You may find a good deal on a geezer-moble like a crown vic, or a buick, but it probably won’t get great mileage. An older honda/toyota would be good if you can find one that’s not run into the ground for that price.

When you find something promising, have it checked out by a mechanic just to make sure it doesn’t have major issues. If it has small problems, negotiate a better price.