Civic Transmission & Fluid Question

I’m no mechanic. I’m what you’d call a “learned idiot” - all I have to fall back on is my own experiences and little real schooling with fixing cars. So stay with me.

1996 Civic. Just over 185k as of this week. She’s been intermittently shifting hard; can’t figure out why some days she drives fine and other days she’s shifting hard (no clunking or noise) or hesitating to shift up a gear (mostly first into second).

Brilliant guy that I am pulled out my old log of repairs and fluid checks this past weekend and see that, surprise!, I’m WAY overdue for a transmission fluid change. I even had a bottle of ATF-Z1 sitting in my trunk that I never used.

Anyway, I had surgery on my arm a month ago and I don’t have full strength in it yet and I’d have to wait to get my pump jack back from my friend anyway. That said…

1.) is it true you shouldn’t “dump and fill” a Honda transmission of its fluid if its far past its date? That seems weird to me.

2.) I’m having a hard time getting a good idea of the fluid level in my transmission (though its a dirty pink color still). Would adding a little extra be okay?

3.) I’m suspecting the previous driver (family, don’t even get me started) went to a third party place (as she always does) and had something like VALVOLINE put in instead of Honda ATF. I have half a mind to dump it, fill it with new fluid, dump that, fill it again with Z1, etc and see if I can’t get it running a little better. Am I risking the transmission it’s self in doing this?

Input is welcomed. I realize this is totally a DUH situation but the most I’ve ever done is replace O2 sensors and brake pads / rotors.

I like your plan in #3, Hondas need the right ATF. Do a couple of drain and fills, see if it help.

The ‘don’t change really old fluid’ thing probably results from people changing the fluid out of desperation on a failing transmission, and it fails anyway. Which it would have done without the last minute desperation act…