Chrystler 200 overheating and burnt coolant smell

Hi all,
My grandfathers car is overheating bad almost to the max, also smelling coolant inside the cab, a loss in power and very little heat coming through the vents.
No warning lights as of yet. I drove it today to test it and at 80klm/h temp rises to over 3/4, and the smell is bad soon as the vents are turned up.

He’s had the thermostat replaced and the coolant flushed, but to me it seems like the heater core has gone bad? I am by no means a mechanic, but I think the mechanic that serviced the car would have tested it. Hard to believe they missed the engine over heating.

He had a small collision a while back and the Chrysler dealership fixed the damage.

He doesn’t drive it very fast 50klm/h max and leaves it to idle for 20+ minutes. He’s old and stubborn and wont listen.

Chrysler 200 2012 Automatic trans

Symptoms of a leaking heater core:
Smell of antifreeze in cab
Windows will steam over on defrost mode
Wet floors with antifreeze smell
Antifreeze dripping from A.C. drain vent

If you have to keep adding antifreeze, it has a leak. Puddles underneath vehicle can help find where leak is coming from. Needs to be found and fixed. Running a vehicle without proper cooling will ruin your engine.

Yeah, very strong smell in the cab, windows steaming up, floors aren’t wet with antifreeze though. He parks on a grassy spot so it’s hard to tell if anything is leaking underneath.
I will put a few pieces of cardboard underneath the car tonight when I visit, and check it all over for leaks. Thanks.

Just read this on a Chrysler forum.