Child Seat in older car

Last year I bought a beautiful old 1984 Mercedes 300SD. It only has 320,000 miles on it, and I’m in the process of making biodiesel to do my part for the environment. This car runs beautifully, and I love driving it.

Here’s the rub: my wife and I are expecting a baby in August, and she insists that this car is not safe to drive an infant in. She points out, correctly, that it has no ABS, airbags, or vehicle stability control- all those modern safety features. She also points out that the actual bench seat in the back is soft (not terribly comfortable), and believes that it is not structurally sound for a child seat.

But in my mind, the child rides in the back seat, facing backwards, and as long as the seat belt is compatible with a modern child car seat, then they should be OK. This car is built like a tank, and I’m a safe driver. So, do I have to give up my biodiesel baby dreams, or can I tell my wife that the car is safe enough? Please note, I don’t drive this car in winter, as I want to save the body from rust. Thanks for your help!

A child seat that only needs a lapbelt will work perfectly with your Benz. The seatbelts are secured as well if not better than on a modern car, and the seat padding is irrelevant. I really liked it when the kid was still riding in child seats because she could ride with me in my really old wrecks that only had lapbelts. Now that she’s older, her ma’ says she can only ride in the ones with shoulder belts with a booster seat. How dull!

I’m sure one of our favorite posters Craig58 will be on shortly to express his opinion as to whether your old diesel Benz is better than a new car with all sorts of safety gizmos.