Chevrolet trouble code

I have a 96 chevy lumina sedan,recently the code for catalytic converter came up. ( I have a small code reader). From what I’ve been able to discover, this doesn’t necessarily mean the converter is bad. I’ve decided to take the car to the dealer to pinpoint the problem on their expensive code reading computer. Does that sound the right thing to do? I’m an ok week end mechanic but it seems there are too many possibilities to nail down the real cause.The code was p240 or p420 (I’m sorry I can’t remember exactly) Thanks

That would be P0420.

If you take it to the dealership, their code reader will come up with…P0420.

Don’t waste your time and money going to the dealership. If an inspection of the oxygen sensor wiring and connectors doesn’t turn up anything obvious, take it to an independent shop. Or just take a gamble and replace the downstream oxygen sensor yourself. Have you tried clearing the code to see if it returns?

What questions should I ask at an independent garage to make sure they know what to test for?

NYBo,
PO420 means ‘Catalyst system efficiency below threshold’.

Doesn’t that mean the post-cat O2 sensor signaled the computer that the cat converter isn’t capable of doing its job?

Why replace the O2 sensor?

martyjeane,
I’d be inclined to test the O2 sensor first before replacing it. Just make certain the engine/exhaust system is up to operating temp first or you’ll get an incorrect test reading.`

OOPS! I re-read your post NYBo, and see you did note the sensor should be inspected. Sorry.

My husband made an appt at a dealership…before we got your reply…why should we think again about Not going there? I’m told they have more/better tests/tools?.. Or, do they just go for worst-case scenarios? Your advice defintely helped us in the past…If we go to an independent garage, should we ask about a particular test that we need? and should we drive the car for a time before the test? (Temperature considerations?) Thanks…