Checking Engine Oil Level

Must the engine/oil be hot in order to obtain a accurate reading of the engine oil level? My youngest son, who is studying to become a certified auto mechanic, insists that the engine oil must be hot. I contend that is a bunch of horse puckey…that the engine oil can either be hot or cold, as long as the vehicle is on level ground and, if hot, you allow sufficient time for the hot oil to drain from the engine into the oil pan.

I agree. Hot or cold, In any case it is most important to actually check it and top it off if needed.

I agree with you. Hot or cold, nomatter, as long as it has a few minutes to drain down. I’ve been doing it this way for over 40 years.

But let your son “strut his stuff”. Some faculty member probably erroneously told him this and he’s trying to show how much he’s learning. Encourage this. It’s a positive thing. He’ll learn soon enough.

You are both wrong.
Engine oil should always be checked cold. Oil, like every other liquid, expands when heated. The dipstick in every single car measures the oil level when the oil is cold. I’m probably wrong about every single car, but what I mean is that a cold measurement is the standard, and it is universal, and there is no reason why anyone would ever make a car with a dipstick that measures the engine oil using any other standard.

Some cars have dual level indicators (sounds fancy but it means two lines on the dipstick) for some fluid level readers, simply indicating the correct level for both cold and hot cars. My Toyota provides this dual measurement for the automatic transmission fluid. It has a “hot” full line on the dipstick and a “cold” full line. There is a very good reason for this, and it is that most owners once assumed that the transmission fluid should be checked cold, like the engine oil. But that wasn’t the case, as the automatic transmission fluid is checked when the car is hot.