Changing Spark Plugs on an Altima

I am wondering how difficult it is to change the spark plugs on a 2003 Nissan Altima. I am not a car expert by any means, but have some experience in working on cars (but mostly Honda’s). Should I not even bother trying to do it myself and just take it somewhere? Are there any guides I can look at that gives instructions step-by-step? Any suggestions??

Is this 4 cyl or 6?

If the car has the 2.5L four-cylinder engine, it’s pretty simple. Pull off the plug wire boots, remove old plugs, install new plugs, reattach wires, and off you go.

The 3.5L V6 engine, on the other hand, might be more difficult. You’ll have three plugs in front (easy), but the three in back could be a pain in the butt to reach.

Spark plugs are generally one of the easiest jobs one can do on a car. For instructional assistance, consult a Haynes/Chilton’s repair manual at your local library (or buy one from an auto parts store), or go onto autozone.com and pull up the repair guide for your vehicle.

Spend $15 - $20 for a Haynes manual for your car. It will pay for itself many times over during the life of the car if you are doing your own work.

its a 4 cyl - 2.5 L.

You should have no difficulty replacing the plugs on this engine. Remember to put a little anti-sieze compound on the threads of the new plugs before they’re installed.

Tester

I seem to recall reading that using anti-seize on spark plugs is a bad idea because it can throw off torque accuracy, if you’re using a torque wrench. Any sense to that?

I believe what you’re talking about is, never apply anti-seize to wheel lug studs or bolts. This can result in false torque readings which can fitigue this hardware with repeated removal/installation for other services. And these readings are in ft-lbs.