Changed oil myself for first time and oil dripped till it was empty?

I just got the car and it was sitting for 6 months and had little oil in it I changed the oil and all the oil dripped out in 4 hours did I do something wrong or is there just a leak? it dripped from the middle of the pan and not from the plug or oil filter. Should I just replace the pan or what? I’m new to cars I’m 17.

UPDATE

So I found there is a leak in the oil pan video here https://youtu.be/ZMfJjOrN_P8
Should I Just get a new oil pan and gasket or try and just patch the hole?

You have to see where the oil is coming from. The best way is to use a degreaser like gunk and get the pan clean so you can see where it is coming from.

Put in 1 Qt. and watch. If it all drained out in 4 hours, 15 minutes should be enough time to spot where it is coming from. Do not go under the car if it is only supported by a jack. I want you to make 18.

1 Like

Good for you in changing the oil your self. I assume since the car (what is it by the way-make, model, miles, any history on it) had been sitting for 6 months you got a good deal on it. Check the gasket around the oil pan, a small leak may not drip straight from a hole in the gasket but run across the pan until it hits a low point and then drips down. The pan may have a hole in it. Take some paper towels and clean the pan real well. Add some more oil and check in an hour or so to see if you can spot the leak. Put newspaper or cardboard under the pan and see if that can help you locate the leak. Do not drive the car with low oil, you will end up with more problems than you signed up for. Once you locate the leak post back and there will be a bunch of folks who will give you good advice on the next steps to take.

ok will do thanks