Car suggestions for Central NJ

We’re moving from SF to central NJ. While in SF, we have only needed one car, but now that we are moving to a less dense area, a second car will be needed again. The current car is a 1999 Beetle with 150,000 miles. My previous car was a 1984 Buick that died on its third transmission with 140,000 miles. The point of that was to let you know that I run my cars into the ground.

So I need some help identifying possible cars. Since I do keep cars for a long time, I think that our second car needs to be a little more practical and cushy for my now more aching bones.

First, I have not lived in the Northeast when I was an actual driver, so have some basic questions.

1) Is rust from the salt on the roads a huge issue that I need to address in the car selection? How do I make sure I minimize corrosion once I buy and start driving?

2) Due to the corrosion, how do you evaluate a used car to determine if it has been properly cared for? Is it just better to buy new?

3) How important is 4WD in central NJ for the winter?

4) Are the seat warmers worth considering for the winter? Are there other amenities that I should really consider?

Next, I need some help identifying possible cars that meet the following criteria. I plan to do some extensive test driving, but feel a little out of my element to figure out where to start.

a) I need good gas mileage to feel okay about myself. I’d like to match or beat the 99 Beetle if possible. I am open to diesel or hybrid.

b) I need a reliable car. Since I keep my cars a long time, I don’t want to hate it in two years because it is in the shop all the time.

c) I like smaller cars, but feel less pressure to buy a subcompact now that I am moving out of the city.