Car Accident! Urgent!

Is it illegal in the state of PA to agree with the other involved, not to report the accident to the police?

If so, what are the consequences?

As far as I know there is no obligation to call the police unless someone is injured.

But I’m not a lawyer or a police officer.

I think you should check with your insurance agent about this.

I think the answer is buried in here:

http://www.dmv.state.pa.us/pdotforms/vehicle_code/chapter37.pdf

Is the ageement in writing ?
Are you, or is the other person trying to prove fault ?
Will the insurance pay or not pay ?

It is easier for me to just pay in cash.

And no one is trying to prove fault. There is no need for a police report.

It doesn’t really matter what anyone on some internet discussion board says. Trying to get advice like this on an internet discussion board is basically silly. lion9car’s link is a great one, but even there, who the heck knows what of all of that is actually current? No judge or lawyer is going to care what you read on the internet the day of the accident.

Question is, why not get them involved? Gut feeling says to call regardless, something seems wrong.

Many many years ago I was dumb and foolish and was in a accident (a guy turned in front of me at a red-light)…and we didn’t call the police…I had slammed on my brakes and hit him about 5-10 mph…Not much damage to either vehicle…In fact I wasn’t even going to get mine fixed…it was old and rusted…and you could hardly tell it was in a accident…

Well when he got home…he told his insurance company the I RAN THE RED LIGHT…And it was my fault…it took me MONTHS to get this straightened out.

It may NOT be ill-legal…but it’s NOT a good thing to do…ESPECIALLY if you’re in the right.

You’re right it was:

? 3746. Immediate notice of accident to police department.