Can Compression Test Diagnose Tiny Leaks?

So, I’ve got rough idles and misfires on cold starts. Before I start replacing parts my diagnostic plans is as follows:

1. Remove and inspect spark plugs.
  2. Inspect and test starter coil/distributor (still have to research how to do this)
  3. Test resistance on fuel injectors.
  4. Test pressure drop on fuel rails.
  5. Test compression for possible small head leak.

I’m wondering, if I do have a tiny head leak that is letting in a drip or two of coolant after hours of the engine sitting, will I be able to see this on the gauge doing a compression test? I’ve never done one before and still need to buy a gauge, but maybe I’m better off just doing the other tests and if they all check out I can be certain it is a minor head leak.

My assumption is that I have a leaking injector; just trying to do things the proper way.

A compression test will not detect small leaks.

A compression test is too dynamic where the piston moves up and down so fast that it builds the proper pressure even if there’s a small leak. And the compression gauge pegs at the highest pressure and stays there.

If you want to find a small leak, a leak-down test is more accurate.

Tester

Thanks @Tester‌

Any recommendations on a good budget friendly leak down/fuel pressure test kit?

Errr wait, I guess I should be doing a compression test on the cooling system to diagnose a small head leak, no?

A leak-down test is where compressed air is introduced into a cylinder with the piston at top-dead-center.

Here’s the leak-down-tester.

http://www.harborfreight.com/cylinder-leak-down-tester-94190.html

At top-dead-center, both the intake and exhaust valves are closed. When the compressed air is introduced, it can be determined if there’s a problem with that cylinder.