Can an air pump issue cause problems elsewhere?

Hi everybody. I’m pretty new to auto repair, but I am relatively handy with plumbing and hardware, and am trying to learn more about auto work. Here’s my predicament:

My 2013 Chevy Equinox threw a check engine light about a month ago. I had it read at AutoZone, and it came up P0411 Improper Upstream Flow in Secondary Air Injection Pump. They suggested replacing the air pump, but multiple other opinions said it was likely a problem with the vacuum lines or bad sensors. When they all agreed that the problem was merely emissions-related and wouldn’t affect the car at all, I decided I would take care of it later.

However, recently the car has had some other problems. When in drive and stopped, the car sometimes starts to lunge, sort of like a bucking bull. When at speeds lower than about 35 mph, accelerating starts a whirring sound from what I think is the engine. Could these newer problems be related to the air pump issue? If so, is there anything I can do? Or should I just take it to a dealer and accept that I’m going to be writing a fat check?

Thanks in advance for any help you can provide!

The check valve may be leaking exhaust back to the pump. If so it will damage the pump and plumbing. Check for heat upstream from the valve.

The air pump might indeed be faulty, maybe one of its bearings is shot, and is now starting to bind up. Since it is driven by the engine, a binding air pump could result in an uneven load and cause the low speed bucking, as well as the whirring noise. If there’s a way to temporarily remove the air pump from the belt path as a test, that might prove diagnostic. There’s lots of other things that can cause bucking and whirring noises though.