California by Way of Vermont, Second Car Advice for Young Marrieds

Hello fine folks.

I’m a Vermonter that is new to California. I married into the Ventura, CA area about 3 years ago.

I’m a musician and touring was my main pursuit for about 5 years. For those years my primary vehicle was an 02 Voyager minivan. Sherman was his name and for all his weirdnesses I loved him (one of my band’s most popular shirts was “Driving a Minivan So You Don’t Have To”) and after a new tranny and over 200K, my wife and I took advantage of cash for clunkers and got a new 2010 Honda Fit, which we have shared for almost 3 years. That’s right, I live in California and we share one car.

It’s been great, actually. Despite getting taken for a complete ride on our first (and probably only) new car purchase, we love Bert. What a car he is, holy moly. But it’s a little noisy in the cabin and the engine is fine, and I wouldn’t call him a fun car to drive, though I do find myself dropping it down to Sport mode and using the paddle shifters for a poor man’s exciting drive down the PCH once in a while.

The time has come to add a second vehicle in the mix and I am a little over my head, but excited at the possibilities. We don’t need to buy until July since we both travel for work out of state/country, and that’s when we’re back. And we’re planning to buy used, preferably around $10- $15K.

I’m wondering if I can throw some desires out there and tell you what I’ve been thinking and if you can spot a car I might have overlooked or one I should definitely avoid. I’ve also heard of the magical rust-free, highways-miles used car from California every since I was a young chap in the salty hills of Vermont, so I’m used to ignoring older cars that might be a great find out here.