Buying a new truck

I am looking at buying a 2001 Ford Excursion with the 7.3L powerstroke turbo diesel in it. It has about 96,000 miles on it. Any thoughts or suggestions? I’m a student at the U.S. Coast Guard Academy and I plan on taking this truck from duty station to duty station for as long as it will last, hopefully 10-15 years.

Any reason you need a truck this big. Good luck getting 15 more years out of it.

It’s 10 years old with almost a 100k miles on it. While the mileage is not high for an '01 there is just no way of making a prediction on an aged vehicle like this.

It all depends on how it was driven and maintained. Changing the oil once a year and towing a heavy trailer for 60k miles of that total could mean the equivalent of 200k miles.

If you’re single and don’t move a lot of stuff around, etc. I don’t understand the need for a big cubic inch land yacht like this.

I would buy one of these instead:

No need

At 10 years and 100k, expect things to wear out or break occasionally no matter what shape it’s in. I have a 2000 Blazer with 116k miles, it’s no longer a daily driver (at least until my daughter gets her permit), but things still need to be fixed. I’ve got my money out of it, but it’s best years are past.

At this age, vacuum lines start to rot out and leak (always fun to troubleshoot), electrical switches and connectors may have corrosion, and parts just die of old age (i.e. radiator at 99k, starter at 110k, exhaust at 115k, etc).

I’ve been lucky with the 4wd so far, only have had to replace a $70 vacuum switch after several hours of troubleshooting. If you can do your own wrenching and the Excursion is dirt cheap, it might be worthwhile but don’t expect 10-15 years, maybe 5 or so. If you have to pay someone else to do the work, it’s going to be a money pit.

Good luck and thank you for serving our country,

Ed B.