Building my first Electric Car Help plz

I’m looking into buying a engine-less japanese cultus or Honda CRX vehicle for lightweight purpose. I’ve been reading how it’s possible to use a DC Induction motor + Controller + Lithium Ion batteries(a lot) to get somewhere around 70-90HP. But the vehicle would have to weigh less than around 2,000lbs all together. If possible, I’d like to aim even lower than that. But the real technical problem I’m running into is making sure to setup the DC induction motor to the transmission properly so that I can manually shift gears and go in reverse when needed. I’m wondering if anyone here knows or has experience with this dead end. I’ve NEVER worked on a car before because I’m always very short on the money, so I’m learning all of this stuff for the first time as of now. I’m wondering if anyone has any good videos or sources of information to break down perhaps how to swap out a regular gasoline engine and install the DC induction motor to the transmission? Because I don’t understand how the manual stick shift ties into the changing of forward or reverse power. Thanks

No experience with this myself, but I expect the transmission and clutch just bolt onto the electric motor’s flywheel is all. It’s critical the two parts are designed to bolt together of course, otherwise you’d need some kind of adapter.

But why guess? There are dozens of books and magazines on how to build your own electric car. Suggest a visit to the local public library and do some basic research.

Here’s one book I discovered via a 30 second search

The Electric Vehicle Conversion Handbook

How to Convert Cars, Trucks, Motorcycles, and Bicycles : Includes EV Components, Kits, and Project Vehicles

Warner, Mark

You’ve never worked on a car before? And you don’t understand how a manual transmission works? And you’re always very short on money?