Brakes... Wow I'm an idiot

Okay… I am currently the owner of a 2003 Nissan Sentra SE-R SpecV. So, about 6 months ago in the dead of winter here in Iowa I walk out to my to head into work for the day. When I released my e-brake, I noticed that the brake light on the dash remained on. I didn’t think too much about it as the vehicle seemed to move without resistance and the brakes were otherwise working fine. I just assumed a sensor had stopped working and was throwing the message. Much to my suprise, over the last month, a nasty metal on metal grinding sound has developed from the driver’s side rear brake assembly. Judging by the sound and the rather heavy amount of brake dust buildup, I’d have to guess that the caliper locked up and slowly grinded down the pad until it didn’t exist and is now direct caliper on rotor contact. Assuming this is correct I will need a new brake pad, rotor, and the parts to fix whatever is wrong with the caliper. As I am no mechanic I’ll have to take this in and have it fixed at a shop. Does anyone know how much this job will cost to get done at a shop?

replace the pair…rotors and pads…around $350

So you just kept driving around with the brake light on for 6 mos? This means - yes, check to see that the e-brake is off, but also check the brake fluid.

I wouldn’t assume that there is a problem with the caliper. There might be. The more likely thing is that your pads were basically down to near nothing - this is what put your brake fluid low and turned the light on (as the pads wear, the brake fluid level goes down). You will certainly need new rotors. You probably needed them anyway.

Don’t ignore warning lights on your dash. Small problems become big ones when you do. In this case, death was actually one possibility.