Brakes "stuck" and burning up

Hello CarTalk. I am not a car person but I need help. I am taking my car in to a shop tomorrow, but if I could get a little forewarning I would be very happy.

Basically, my car (2002 Mazda Protege) has been acting like my brakes are engaged. Not all the time, though - The first time I get out and drive it, it drives smooth as silk like always. But then after I put it in park and then get back in and head out (I’m a delivery driver, so this is constant), sometimes it feels like the brakes are constantly being pressed. No, the emergency brake is not on. Most of the time it’s almost not even noticeable so, like an idiot, I put it off for the past week. But today, it was very, very, very bad. I was having to press the gas to the floor to get up to speed, and then it was constantly trying to slow down. My brakes were definitely getting burned up while it was doing this, but luckily it stopped.

It may be unrelated - I know I have an oil leak, but today I saw a very unusual spot where something leaked out in my driveway. I checked my oil, and it was where I expected it to be, but this was a relatively large stain which would be very unlike my current leak.

Something in the brake system isn’t working correctly.

You’re wise to bring it in and have the brake system checked out.

Tester

My wild guess is that you may have a sticky caliper or two. But there are so many other possibilities such as collapsed flex lines, a master cylinder sticking, and even brake pedal linkage to the power rod that goes into the master cylinder to push the piston, that I’m reluctant to pre-guess the shop that’ll be doing the actual diagnosis.