Brake line hose replacement

I just figured out what was making my son’s brake pedal go to the floor, barely stopping his '97 Buick Skylark. A crack in the hose going to his front passenger brakes. Is this something I can fix myself or do I need to take it to a pro so things can be properly bled etc? I have no mechanical experience, but just replaced his windshield yesterday and have another son in college so I need to save $$$$.

Brake hose replacement as well as brake bleeding is fairly simple and straightforward. Any questions can be answered by a decent repair manual (Haynes is good for someone with limited knowledge or experience) regarding how to perform either. The biggest issue you may encounter doing this job would be if the steel line going to the hose breaks during removal. If that happens, you will then have to replace a section of steel line, which isn’t difficult to do either with a length of tubing, some flare nuts, a double flaring tool, tubing cutter, and some compression fittings. If you have any doubts about your abilities to do any of these things, I suggest you consult someone who knows how to do these sorts of things who can put their hands on the car (some things are easier demonstrated than described). Brakes are not something to take chances on. They are pretty simple, but you have to know how to deal with them to avoid messing them up and putting lives in jeopardy.

The biggest danger of doing this on a 14 year old car is damaging the flair nut where the hard line meets the hose. To do this without damaging this nut, get a flair nut wrench. You may have to buy a set to get the one you need, but they aren’t that expensive. get the metric set.

Remove the wheel (car on jack stands, do not do this with the cars jack only). Put a drip pan under the brakes. Crack the flair nut with a flair nut wrench. Crack the banjo bolt on the back of the caliper. Crack the bleeder valve.