Best Reads for Engine Lovers

Hello! I am a high school English teacher. I have a student who is very interested (borderline obsessed :wink: with Diesel Engines. I am desperate to find something for this student to read that will interest him!
I have always prided myself on being able to find the perfect book for my studentsā€¦ but this kid has me stumped.

Any book lovers out there who might have a suggestion? Fiction or Non-Fiction? Magazine, Book, WHATEVER!!!

Amazon.com has about 20,000 hits for ā€œdiesel engines,ā€ so your choice of books is quite broad.

One possibility is a biography of Rudolph Diesel and the early history of his invention. The book is quite technical, which would likely appeal to your student, and not just a typical biography, so he might find it interesting:

And hereā€™s another story about the Cummins Engine Company and the birth of the diesel truck industry in the U.S.:

A website for a school that offers a diesel engine program might have on their website in their current semester schedule titles, authors, and ISBN numbers for textbooks. And it should be easy to find.

I know, I know, never start a sentence with a conjunction. But hey, I didnā€™t do well in English me.

Not about diesel engines, but thereā€™s a pretty good general-interest book about the very first automobile trip across America. They start in San Francisco an drive to NYC I think. Itā€™s a fun read, even more so for car enthusiasts. The problems of driving back then were a lot different than now. For example, they had to pre-plan to have their gasoline shipped to them by rail.

Hereā€™s one about Coventry Climax engine history. They werer popular racing engines in the '50s and '60s that powered many winning race cars.

http://www.motorbooks.com/books/Coventry-Climax-Racing-Engines/9781903706831